School Calendar

SCHOOL HISTORY

History of St. Brigid's National School
Situated in the picturesque village of Clonegal, St. Brigid’s National School had a few transformations down through the years.

Scroll down through the timeline below to see our progression through the years.

Timeline

2021
2021

New floors poured in two classrooms. Both rooms were painted, new floor covering fitted.

2017
2017

Our school gardens are constantly evolving and our ‘Seomra Ranga so Ghairdín’, our outdoor classroom, is opened, where children can engage in practical learning activities related to nature and the environment.

2016
2016

One mainstream classroom is built to replace the rented cabin at the back of the school and the staff room is extended. The rented cabin is removed.

2015
2015

We were winners of the Donal Walsh School Marathon.

2014
2014

A further building programme is completed. A 2-storey extension now incorporates 2 new mainstream classrooms upstairs and a new ASD unit downstairs. Bishop Denis Nulty officially opened and blessed the new extension.

2010
2010

The school building is refurbished with new windows and doors and a new entrance porch. At the back of the school a new playground is installed.

2006
2006

Parish Hall is renovated. At present, it is always available for school use and has a computer room, a kitchen, and a small PE room. The After-School club also uses the Parish hall.

1990
1990

Two new classrooms are opened.

1974
1974

The school amalgamates with Parkbridge National School. Parkbridge NS had opened in 1963 to replace Newry National School, which dated from 1845. The building is now a 3 roomed school with a boy’s and girl’s toilet and cloakroom area.

1952
1952

The present building replaces the old school and, built on an elevated site, occupies a focal point in the village. Here is the photo of the official blessings of the school.

1834
1834

The old school, which was built in 1834, is what we presently know as our Parish Community Hall.